Lion’s Club Names Students Of The Month at RRTC For January

Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb modified the 52-county burn ban. The modified ban now covers just 16 western Oklahoma counties after rains brought some relief to central Oklahoma. It also will remain in effect past the original deadline of midnight March 2.

The modified governor’s ban covers: Beaver, Beckham, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kiowa, Roger Mills, Texas, Washita, Woods and Woodward counties.

“Drought conditions remain in western Oklahoma and the threat of wildfire remains a concern in those counties, a concern I witnessed firsthand about a year ago when hundreds of thousands of acres were burned and many of our farm families suffered devastating losses,” said Lamb, who is acting governor while Governor Mary Fallin is attending Council of Governors and National Governors Association meetings in Washington, D.C. “The moisture we received in parts of the state has given us a reprieve, but our fire season is definitely not over.”


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

The Comanche Times

PO Box 580

Comanche, OK 73529

Phone: 580-439-6500

Fax: 580-439-6500